You know that feeling – the one you get when you find the perfect job opportunity posted on the website of an organization you would love to work for, but then you find out that the deadline was yesterday. Sigh. That just happened to me. Again.

I get so frustrated with job searching online. I would prefer to get out and meet people, but I am often drawn back indoors because of the potential (some might call it an illusion) of finding a great job posted online.

I have career alerts set up on all the major job search websites, so I get the latest job postings that meet my criteria sent directly to my email. The problem is so does everyone else who is looking for marketing and communications jobs in the fields of corporate social responsibility, sustainability, or otherwise “green” jobs. I’m certainly not the only one responding to the job postings when they come along. How can I expect to get my resumé noticed by recruiters when there are two hundred other people trying to do the same?

Perhaps if I just stop looking, I’ll actually find a job.  That makes a lot of sense according to the Harvard Business Review blog post Need to Find a Job? Stop Looking So Hard by Peter Bregman.  Bregman says “Jobs come from being engaged in the world and building human connections,” so limit your online searching and applying to 1-2 hours a day. Then spend the rest of your time doing things you love with people you enjoy. And let the job find you.

These days, I’m spending my time with a small group of job seekers, who, just like me, were feeling lonely and isolated in our job searches. We decided that getting out and being with others who are in the same situation could make the job search more enjoyable. The support and encouragement I get from our little group gives me a strong sense of accomplishment at the end of each day. And after my next job finds me, I’ll still have the friendships I built during this time.

