The original reason for calling my blog “A Changemaker in the Making” was because I wanted to talk about my personal journey of becoming a social entrepreneur. At that time, I was teaching Ashoka about Agile, and their title “Changemaker” seemed like an apt description of what I intended for myself. I used my blog as a tool to talk about the things I learned in my career as an Agile coach, trainer, and consultant. Advisers on organizational agility are constantly thrust into change-making situations.

Speaking of change, I’m going to change the identity of my blog to accommodate my newest role in life. You see, gentle reader, I’m now a father. And Chase is the new potential Changemaker in our house.

The concept underlying the blog’s title “A Changemaker in the Making” still holds true. Like most parents, I aspire to be a great father and intend to help my son achieve his full potential. While it won’t be easy, my responsibilities are straightforward.

In the teachings of the Bahá’í Faith, Bahá’u’lláh says “We have decreed, O people, that the highest and last end of all learning be the recognition of Him Who is the Object of all knowledge…” (Gleanings, Sec. 98, p. 199) (Note: Check out the Bahá’í Reference Library for A Compilation on Bahá’í Education)

As I understand it, my duty as a parent is to help Chase recognize God, his Creator, and to begin to understand his spiritual reality. “A Changemaker in the Making” is going to be about raising Chase as a spiritual being in a permissive age. For how can someone bring about positive change in the world if he doesn’t have a fundamental understanding of it?

When I manage to get a blog article out, I intend to use spiritual concepts and quotes from the Writings to talk about how I’m trying to raise Chase. In my research on parenting and education, I’ve come across many popular concepts and themes that talk about how I’m supposed to raise my child. I’d like to dig into those more deeply and see if they fit with my understanding of the Bahá’í teachings. We’ll see if I can manage to do that once in a while.

But right now, Chase is crying. I’m pretty sure another kind of change is in order…

